Weekly Writing Challenge : Mind the Gap

ereader vs books

This weeks writing challenge and corresponding poll has made me think what I like. Like others before me I can’t strictly choose one form over another. It depends generally on what material I’m reading.

Through many hospital visits staying in and attending various clinics I know I would be lost with the ebook reader on my Android Tablet and before that my Kindle. I found myself in the situation where my beloved Kindle gave up the ghost so I bought a tablet to enable me to do other things as well as read. I have found it helpful to pass many an hour whilst waiting for appointments and not having to carry paper books around with me. I would choose this method for reading fiction. The down side of ebook readers seems to be the fact that you are restricted by your items battery and if using a reader on the move one has to always remember to charge your reader up before leaving the house in this respect ebook readers have the edge over tablets and books have the edge over both these forms.

If your a Star Trek viewer you may have noticed they were using Tablets long before they came into regular use. All of those of us of a certain age well remember Scotty talking to a mouse on a computer instead of moving the mouse how far technology could take us in the future. Who knows some day in the not to distance future the battery issue may be resolved.

But if I’m looking up information in non-fiction I much prefer a pa.per book as I find it easy to find information as with this kind of book I don’t read it from cover to cover and will find myself dipping into certain chapters of just the information I’m looking for. Books are also easier to view text alongside picture, tables, or graphs as these tend to come up too small on an ebook reader.

So my decision for now is to  continue using a ebook reader for fiction and books for non-fiction.

I’ll wait and see what future technology may bring with bated breathe looking forward to even newer and better ways.

 

Leave a Reply

